WE LOVE TENNIS <3
In order to play tennis the conventional way, it is important to set the net to a standard height, and a standard length. Not having a proper net can disturb your practice.
For example, with a lower net in training, you might make fewer errors and end up hitting many net faults in important matches or in tournaments.
The International Tennis Federation has set standard rules to be followed around the world by tennis practitioners. It is crucial for fair play, and to ensure that all the matches are played in the same conditions.
The net in a tennis court divides the court in the middle and is suspended by a cord or a metal cable attached to two net posts.
The standard height of a tennis net is 3 ½ feet (1.07m) at the posts and 3 feet (0.914m) at the center.
Additional Important Rules of the Tennis Net
Placing a net on a tournament court is no joke. It should thoroughly follow the ITF instructions:
- The net should be held down tightly by a white strap in the center to maintain the height.
- A white band should cover the cord or metal cable at the top of the net
- The diameter of the cord and metal cable shouldn’t be more than 1/3 inches (0.8 cm)
- The band width should be between 2 inches (5 cm) and 2½ inches (6.35 cm)
- The net posts diameter shoudn’t be more than 6 inches (15 cm)
Tennis Net in Singles and Doubles
If you often watch tennis matches, the net in singles and in doubles is not of the same length. The ITF has set rules for each case:
- For singles, the net posts should be 3 feet (0.914 m) outside the singles court lines
- For doubles, the net posts are moved to 3 feet (0.914m) outside the doubles court lines, and replaced by sticks at a height of 3 ½ feet (1.07m)
However, the first rule is not always respected in tournaments, especially when there is pressure on the organizers to keep up with the time schedule of every match. Sometimes, you will notice a doubles net in singles matches like this one between Federer and Coric in Roma Masters 2019.
Around The Net
Around the net shots are allowed in tennis. The player who attempts to play a winner around the post and lands the ball inside the court is awarded the point.
It is a rare thing to happen in professional tournaments and it’s considered a trickshot. Special mentions are:
- Wawrinka’s backhand against Djokovic in Roland Garros 2015 final
- Nadal’s Forehand against Marin Cilic in US Open 2019 semi-final
- Federer’s Backhand against Nishikori in Australian Open 2017 round of 16.
Here is a nice compilation of great around-the-post shots, made by Tennis TV.
To Wrap it Up
It is important to set your court net at the standard heights in the center and the posts to train in similar conditions of every tennis player in the world including the very best.